Saturday, December 26, 2009

No Reading Ahead

I've tried to read a few books here lately, but other things keep coming up. Right now I'm in the middle of "The Shining" by Stephen King, but I've been "in the middle of it" for months. I keep putting it on hold when other books come up. Right now I'm in kind of a strict "no reading" zone because I'm on vacation and hanging out with a 2-week-old precious precious baby, so I imagine I'll continue to not finish "The Shining" for a few more weeks, at least.

The other day I did start reading "Maniac McGee" by Jerry Spinelli, and I totally would have finished it if the vacation hadn't come up. I totally recommend rereading a beloved book from your childhood. It's been like 20 years since I read about the Maniac, so even though I know the gist of it, I'm still suprised by all the stuff my brain let go of over the years. And this book, back then, was just so awesome. I can't tell you why until I finish it, but I remember ALL of my classmates reading that book, and loving it. Even the boys.

One thing I do have an opinion on is Julia and Julia. I just watched the movie the other day. It starts off slow, but it has a few laughs, and my mom and I both thought it was good. It's just not for everyone.

Last night I watched The Ugly Truth, and holy crap, Gerard Butler, you are a fucking beautiful man. The movie was way racier than the previews had shown, which was a nice little surprise, and it was very funny.

On TV: HOLY CRAP JERSEY SHORE HOW I LOVE TO HATE YOU! Can someone please beat the crap outta Mike? His "situation" is that he is a "douchebag". And poor Snooki, she's so attention-starved and pathetic. I'd love to see her actually realize how stupid she is by the end of the series, but sadly those people never do.

No comments: