I am in a strange place: I somehow enjoy the books, AND want to finish the series, and yet I absolutely hate the main character, and I think I even hate her boyfriend. I honestly can’t even say what it is I like about this crap that keeps me coming back for more…..
On to the bitching!
I already mentioned in a previous post how Bella stupidly worries about the mythical creatures’ safety, even though they are freaking MAGIC and she is a MORONIC KLUTZ! So I’m just going to say that more of that happens.
In the beginning of the book, the author took a daring turn and made Edward (the vamp boyfriend) act like a controlling asshole, refusing to let Bella visit her friends “for her own good”. Who hasn’t heard that on the Wifebeater Network (formerly known as Lifetime Movie Network)? Edward stops that crap later on, but it was still weird. I think Meyer should have rewritten that, but the whole thing took me out of the book, ruined the flow for a while.
Another thing that’s wearing on my nerves: I hate the way Bella treats her family. There’s even a whole passage where she’s thinking to herself about how she always had to take care of her mom, and how she even felt superior to her mother. I don’t think she respects her parents at all, and seeing Bella in that bratty light also stopped the flow for me.
To explain the flow for a bit: when I read I’m basically watching a movie in my head, and when the flow gets messed with, it’s like the DVD is skipping or the TV is getting fuzzy. I was lost in the story, and now I’m not because of that distraction. When the author is actually the one to stop the flow—that is bad! I want to be a test reader for Meyer so I can point out to her when she is ruining her own book for me so she can learn from it and fix it.
Anyway, another thing I hate about Bella: people try to do nice things for her, like give her a birthday party or take her out to dinner for graduation, and all she can do the ENTIRE TIME is hate it. And she can’t even pretend to like it for their sake. Bella is a rude little snot.
Lastly: Bella’s the star, Edward’s her one and only love, and I’m supposed to root for them. You ALWAYS root for the main character. It’s like one of the book commandments! But I don’t. I’m a much bigger fan of the werewolf pack, actually. I actually wish Bella would have chosen Jacob over Edward, it just makes more sense. Edward is ice cold and as hard as marble. Jacob, on the other hand, is a human: warm (actually hot—werewolves have a temp of about 108), fleshy so that it doesn’t feel like you are hugging a mannequin. You can have babies with him, you can take him out into the sunlight, you can let him stay over for dinner and he won’t weird everyone out by not eating. If you are stuck in a tent during a snow storm, the vampire can only sit and watch you freeze to death, but a werewolf can climb in your sleeping bag and get you so warm you are practically sweating (that actually happens in the book).
If I were any good at writing, I’d not even read book 4. I would spend that time writing some fan fiction about the absolutely wonderful life Bella and Jacob have together. It just makes more sense.
I’m not good at writing, however. So I’m going to read Book 4 and bitch about it later.
(some prebitching about book 4—MORE WHINING AND WORRYING!! And now Jacob’s all emo too, WHY IS STEPHENIE MEYER RUINING ALL THAT IS GOOD?)
No comments:
Post a Comment